How To Survive The Apocalypse
How to Survive the Apocalypse
Chapters, Closing and Opening
0:00
-33:27

Chapters, Closing and Opening

Reflections on where we are

Donna Rachel goes solo for the last podcast of this set, looking back on what brought her to Jerusalem, what she learned from the experience, and what the future holds.

After I recorded this episode, I opened up Facebook while I was waiting for the file to upload, and read the following. It encapsulates what I feel about the idea of ‘God’ and ‘faith’ and all that sort of stuff: no longer is it dogmatic; instead, it is wholly experiential.

Nick Cave on the death in 2015 of his teenage son Arthur:

‘Arthur’s death literally changed everything for me. Absolutely everything. It made me a religious person. I am not talking about being a traditional Christian. I am not even talking about a belief in God, necessarily. It made me a religious person in the sense that I felt, on a profound level, a deep inclusion in the human predicament, and an understanding of our vulnerability and the sense that, as individuals, we are, each of us, imperilled. Each life is precarious, and some of us understand it and some don’t. I became a person after my son died.

The world seemed to vibrate with a peculiar, spiritual energy. I was genuinely surprised by how susceptible I became to a kind of magical thinking. How readily I dispensed with that wholly rational part of my mind and how comforting it was to do so. Now, that may well be a strategy for survival and, as such, a part of the ordinary mechanics of grief, but it is something that persists to this day. Perhaps it is a kind of delusion, I don’t know, but if it is, it is a necessary and benevolent one.

Things happen in your life, terrible things, great obliterating events, where the need for spiritual consolation can be immense, and your sense of what is rational is less coherent and can suddenly find itself on very shaky ground. I think of late I’ve grown increasingly impatient with my own scepticism; it feels obtuse and counter-productive, something that’s simply standing in the way of a better-lived life. I love this world — with all its joys and its vast goodness, its civility and complete and utter lack of it, its brilliance and its absurdity. I love it all, and the people in it, all of them. I feel nothing but deep gratitude to be a part of this whole cosmic mess.

I don’t know how to exactly say this, and please don’t misunderstand it, but since Arthur died I have been able to step beyond the full force of the grief and experience a kind of joy that is entirely new to me. It was as if grief enlarged my heart in some way. I have experienced periods of happiness more than I have ever felt before, even though it was the most devastating thing ever to happen to me. This is Arthur’s gift to me, one of the many. It is his munificence that’s made me a different person. I say all this with huge caution and a million caveats, but I also say it because there are those who think there is no way back from the catastrophic event. That they will never laugh again. But there is, and they will.’

A view of Jerusalem taken by Donna Rachel just a few days ago. The rainbow is pointing directly at the SouthEast corner of the Temple Mount, the spot where it is said Jesus will return to.

Happy New Year 2023
— Donna Rachel & Josh.

0 Comments
How To Survive The Apocalypse
How to Survive the Apocalypse
Join Josh & Donna in Jerusalem as we discuss the causes of our civilisation's collapse, and what we can do as individuals and as a people to survive it.